Lion Compatibility & AL7 Development

 

A lot of AL users have been asking whether AL6 works with OSX Lion. Unfortunately, it does not. AL relies very heavily on notifications from the OS that networks have changed, or ethernet has come online, etc. Many of these notifications have changed in Lion, meaning that AL6 has to be completely re-worked in order to function. This is also true for many snapshot actions. Given the exciting progress I had made re-writing AL7 from the ground up, it makes most sense to devote myself to completing that. The other issue is that I have started a new and exciting job that is taking all of my free time. I am not able to develop at all.

AirPort Location was a very exciting learning experience, but it now is too big of an animal for me to tame in time for Lion. Hopefully I will be able to update AL in the future, but for now it will remain Snow Leopard only.

Thanks to everyone who has supported AirPort Location!

 

 

 

    • Olivier Refalo
    • July 20th, 2011

    At this point open sourcing the code might be a good option, what do you think ?

  1. This is most unfortunate. I really loved this app and had come to depend on it’s amazing ability to figure out where I was. I wish I’d known beforehand, this would have been almost enough to put off the Lion upgrade.

    • Spudster
    • July 22nd, 2011

    :(
    I feel your pain, brotha. Gonna miss my favourite app.

    • Phil
    • July 24th, 2011

    Too bad for us… :(
    Lion also comes with theses bad surprises.
    Enjoy your new challenging job !

    • Clemens
    • July 24th, 2011

    Hi Andrew,

    I am missing AL already on Lion. Have you considered passing on the torch?

      • Charles Waddington
      • July 26th, 2011

      Please, please consider porting AirportLocation. I only discovered it a week ago and already miss its absence under Lion.

  2. ditto to above. just got lion … now i feel miserable :( Please do consider passing the baton …

    • Clemens
    • August 4th, 2011

    MarcoPolo has a new fork, named ControlPane. Maybe some of AirportLocation’s functionality could find it’s way into ControlPane (e.g. en-/disable sharing)?

    • Apparently the fork is called “ControlPlane”, not “ControlPane” :)

      http://controlplane.dustinrue.com/

      It seems to work perfectly for me in Lion. Although, I’m only using the status of the ethernet as an evidence source.

      • Spudster
      • August 23rd, 2011

      I’ve been using ControlPlane 1.0.3 for a few days and so far I’m impressed. I’ve been able to completely replicate my AirportLocation set up.

    • Liriel
    • August 29th, 2011

    Have you considered charging for AL to fund further development? I would gladly pay up to $20 for it. Tried ControlPlane but it doesn’t provide many of the features I used in AL (e.g., Skype status).

    • swy
    • September 12th, 2011

    RIP AL! It was awesome.

  1. September 14th, 2011
    Trackback from : Location Manager | NSLog();

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

